Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Community Chesed

Our High School girls have long been known for their constant involvement in acts of chesed across the community. Now our boys are getting into the act as well. From packing Rosh Hashanah baskets for the needy at Baron Hirsch, to helping Young Israel build their Sukkah, and the elderly in our community do the same, chesed was a big part of preparation for the chagim in CYHSB this year - and they're not done yet. On Friday, following a shiur on the kashrut of the daled minim delivered by Baron Hirsch Assistant Rabbi and CYHSB rebbe, Rabbi Aaron Feigenbaum, our boys will help the shul properly put together the daled minim so that they are ready to be picked up and used by the community over Sukkot. Tizku le-mitzvot!

Posted by Picasa

Sunday, October 5, 2008

National Merit Scholars

Two CYHSB students were recognized by the National Merit Program for their exceptional PSAT scores. Avi Katz, from South Bend, Indiana, was one of 34,000 students nationwide, out of a pool over 1.5 million, who received the National Merit Program's Letter of Commendation. Andrew Tavin, a local Memphian, was one of only 16,000 students - less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors - who qualified as a National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalist. The Semi-Finalists will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,200 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $35 million, that will be offered next spring.

We congratulate them both and wish Andrew the best of luck in the next round!

Friday, October 3, 2008

Writing Award Winners

The results of our first monthly Dean's Writing Award are in. Taking first place in our Judaic Studies category is a short story, written completely in Hebrew, co-authored by 6th graders Motti Klein and Asher Finkelstein. The winner in our General Studies category is an essay by 11th grader Ariel Cooper on social tensions in 17th century America. To view the list of all of our student nominees as well as the work of our finalists and winners, visit the new Dean's Award Wikispace.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and keep up the great work!